Main News & Results


Top Stories

Atholl Cup Plate

The Plate has been won by Harry Smith, Roy Bennett, Alex Adamson and Glen Falconer. Runners up were David and Wendy Chambers, David Nisbet and Ian Thompson.

East District Congress

We are holding the first ED Congress in decades on the weekend of Oct 18th – 20th with Mixed (McGregor Cup) / Open pairs the Friday evening, Swiss Pairs for the Chalmers Cup the Saturday and Swiss Teams for the Watson Trophy on the Sunday. All at the Melville.

Hunter Cup

Winners were Harry Smith, Roy Bennett, Bob McPaul and Paul Gipson. Results.


Runners up were John Di Mambro, Dougie Mitchell, Tam Penman and Mark Menzies.

Silver Prize Winners were Tadeusz Janowski, Krzysztof Nguyen, Andrew Muir and Geoff Bailey.

Bronze Challenge Teams

Winners were Alison Littleboy, Graham Dempsey, Clare Douglas and Maurice Franceschi. Results. Photos to follow.

Women's Teams

Winners by a comfortable margin were Veronica Guy, Lucia Barrett, Rona Moss and Laura Middleton. Results

Dunbar Congress

Entry for the Dunbar Congress is now open at"

Top of Page
Older News Top of Page

Enter online

Conveners: login to SBU Web Site

Results Board

Older Results

Details from earlier this season.

Top of Page

Tournament Updates

Select this to see the tri-fold flyer we've done to promote bridge - Please feel free to print some off and distribute them handily for people to pick up!

Top of Page

Bronze Home Page

Coming Soon in the East District

Today is Sunday 16 June 2019

  • 07/07 ED v NEBA Match ()

* Bronze only event

Full district calendar

ED Tournaments 2018-19 (updated)

Top of Page

East District League & Cup

Updated 29 April 2019

Results will appear here as soon as submitted. Results shown in red are not yet included in the league tables.

Submit result

Tables | Next matches | All Recent Results

Current League Leaders:
Div 1: Craigleith
Div 2: Grosvenor Aces
Div 3: Renaissance
Div 4: Unusual Suspects
Div 5: Pinkhill Pandas

MacLaren Cup (Wall Chart)

Top of Page



Here is the Constitution of the East District as approved at the AGM in May 2011.

The Laws of Bridge

The SBU implemented the new 2017 Laws on 1st September 2017. Copies of the new Laws are available from Anne Perkins.

The End of Paper Masterpoint Slips

Did you know that those paper MP certificates in your bottom drawer are going to be worth as much as a ten-bob bank note in a few days? Either deliver them to Membership Services or bin them; and please do not send them to the Rose St mailbox in Edinburgh, send them along with your cheques and any other correspondence to: G Plant – SBU 21/5 Falcon Road West Edinburgh EH10 4AD

Master Points Database

MEMPAD gives every SBU member access to their current Master Point totals and ranking, updated daily. Clubs submit master points on-line so you will be able to see your MP totals updated relatively soon after you have played at your local club. There’s also information about members, clubs and SBU competitions.

Email the Master Point Secretary () and ask for a login. Remember to quote your MasterPoint number; you can then register, update your personal details (address, telephone number, email address etc.) and change your password.

Web Site

Design & updates for East District by Alan Officer.

Top of Page