Highlights of Season 2018-19

East District

Stories and results from earlier in the year will appear here after they are retired from the main news page. Reverse chronological order.

52nd EBU Isle of Man Congress

Congratulations to Kenny Watson from Peebles, who (playing with Martin Garvey) won the Congress Swiss Pairs event, played over three days from 8-10 September. Kenny reports a decent standard, green pointed,with one or two big hitters playing, including John Holland.

Jim McDowall wins the Faie Rosebowl

Congratulations to Jim McDowall who won the East District Individual competition at the Melville on 16th September. Alastair White was runner up, with Tom Bagnall third.

Faie Results.

This was Jim’s second success in the tournament, having won it in 2010.

Chalmers Trophy update

Following an appeal, Sandy Duncan and Bob McPaul have been declared the winners of the Chalmers Trophy last Saturday. As you will have seen, there was a three-way tie for first place. The rules on splitting this are quite complex, and this was not done correctly on the day. We apologise for any confusion.

Congratulations to Bob McPaul and Sandy Duncan, winners of the newly launched ED Swiss Pairs event for the Chalmers Cup. Full Chalmers results at Melville site.

With only 2 VPs covering the top 5, this was a close affair! Losing out on split ties were Harry Smith & Roy Bennett and Iain Sime & Fiona McQuaker. All three top pairs finished on 96VP.

Top Bronze pair were Rose Simpson & Kathy Whaler. Best Silver (on 94) were Andrew Harborough & Tom Bagnall.

East District Congress

We re-introduced an East District Congress this season, providing a Red Pointed weekend at the Melville on 1st and 2nd September, incorporating and expanding on the Watson Trophy for Teams.

Congratulations to Joyce Benson, Martin Diamond, David Shenkin and Alistair Gordon, who won the Watson Teams trophy. Full Watson results at Melville site.

Runners up were Derek Sanders, Alex Adamson, John Murdoch and Iain Sime, and with the top Silver pair in 3rd - Jane Stephenson, Rosemary McKinnel, Rose Simpson and Kathy Whaler, the Silver prize was awarded to Peter Cairns, Jim McLaughlin, Shirish Chotai and Les Verth. Bronze winners were Ian & Sue Campbell, David Nisbet and Ian Thomson.

NEBA Match

The annual match between the East District and the North East Bridge Association is a teams of eight match typically held in Berwick-upon-Tweed on the first Sunday in July.

The Newcastle Journal Challenger Trophy is played for by the A teams and the B teams play for the Edinburgh Salver. Players are invited to represent the district and the B team usually has representatives from the lower division league teams.

2018: The A team lost by 65-127 imps. The team was Liz McGowan, David Liggat, Brian Short, Fiona McQuaker, George Plant, Peter Moss, Fiona Lawson, and John Hamilton, while the B team lost by 81-122 imps. The team was Veronica Guy, Rona Moss, Elizabeth Peckham, Andrew Harborow, Moyra Forrest, Archie Docherty, Katharine Bailey, and David Hamilton.



Other Years

2017-2018 | 2016-2017 | 2015-2016 | 2014-2015 | 2013-2014 | 2012-2013 | 2011-2012 | 2010-2011 | 2009-2010 | 2008-2009 | 2007-2008 | 2006-2007 | 2005-2006

ED Prize Winners 2018-19

Pairs Events

Teams of Four

Teams of Eight

Individual Events

Representative Matches

Borders v East District

NEBA v East District