Highlights of Season 2007-08

East District

Cowan Cup

Dave Walker & Brian Short won the Cowan Cup, from runners up George Wood & Simon Gillam. 

Robert Taylor wins the Faie RosebowlFaie Rosebowl

East District Individual Trophy, Sunday 14th October 2007. Robert Taylor lifted the Faie trophy with a winning score of 59.38%. Rosemary McKinnell and Mike Smith were joint 2nd after a recount. Full Faie Rosebowl results. Robert is pictured being presented with the trophy by Anne Perkins, with tournament organiser & director Reg Drysdale looking on. The sterling work by Reg & Diana Drysdale (scoring) was much appreciated by all.

Hunter Cup Winners 2008Hunter Cup

The Hunter Cup was won by Les Steel, Bif McGeorge, Dave Walker, Malcolm Cuthbertson.

McGregor Mixed Pairs

Macdonald & PeploeDuncan Macdonald & Carolyn Peploe (who previously won the trophy in 1974-75 with A F Yzer) for winning the District Mixed Pairs tournament on Friday November 23rd at the Melville. Full McGregor Cup results. Forty pairs turned up for this popular event and enjoyed an excellent tournament.

No Fear & Next Step Pairs

23rd February at the Carlton. The No Fear was won by Lucinda McFarlane & Ann Bunker (68.23%) from Elizabeth Grace & Rena Harvey (65.10%). The Next Step Pairs was won NS by Lyn Cronin & Anne Havard (62.81%), and EW by Catherine Jordan & Ian Somerville (67.40%). Congratulations to all, full results from the No Fear & Next Step

Sim Pairs

Won by Roy Bennett & David Liggat, held on 5th November at the Melville, Carlton, Falkirk, Peebles, Jedburgh, Berwick and Dunfermline clubs. Sim Pairs full results. As there appears to be a fair degree of confusion, Donald Denoon has put together a brief explanation about how the District Sim Pairs is scored

Swiss Pairs Event

Photo of winnersCongratulations to Stephen Male & Paul Maiolani, winners of the Swiss Pairs at the Melville. 1pm on Sunday December 2nd 2007.

Silver winners (Scottish & National Masters) were Diana Drysdale & Ros French, who were also overall runners up.

The Bronze award (up to and including Senior Masters) was awarded to Troy van de l'Isle and Robert Clow.

Full Swiss Pairs Result Summary and Detailed Swiss Pairs Results including travellers.

District Teams Results

The winners of the East District Ladies' Teams competition were Veronica Guy, Carolyn Peploe, Sam Punch, Fiona McQuaker and Liz McGowan. Full results.

In the Men's event, the winners were David Liggat, Miro Dragic, Brian Short, Derek Sanders and Mike Ash.

Watson Trophy

This East District competition was won by Paul Maiolani, Ian MacIntyre, Ian Howie, Mike McGinley.

National SBU Events

National Pairs

Les Steel & Dave Walker


Berwick Congress

The Berwick Congress on Sunday 4th May was a great success. Winners of the Pairs competition were Keith Youngs & John O'Connor (runners up Thea Teale & Kevin McCullough). The Bronze award for players below Scottish Master level went to Ian Somerville and Cath Jordan.

The Swiss Teams competition was won by the Pemble/ Ross team by one VP from John Hamilton's team. The Bronze award in the teams (7th overall) was won by Alan Officer, Norma Bain, Bob Morris & Linda Roy.

Dunbar Congress

Congratulations to Thea Teale and Anthony Bates, winners of the Dunbar Congress Pairs on Sunday 7th October, also Alison & Jim Pilley, Bett & Norman Morrison, triumphant in the Skateraw Teams event.

Dunfermline Congress

Congratulations to the winners at the Dunfermline Congress on Sunday: Alan Goodman & Sam Punch in the Pairs, and Briony Multon, Bronwen Wheatley, Agnes Munro & J Anderson in the Teams.

Kelso Congress

Congratulations to the winners at the Kelso Congress on Sunday: Val Fairbairn & Jean Bunyan in the Pairs, and Joyce Thomson, Helenor Pratt, Val Fairbairn & Jean Bunyan in the Teams.

Representative Matches

East District Select beat Borders

The result was a close affair with the Edinburgh & East District select coming out on top by 30,160 to 27,070 over 12 tables at the Ex-Serviceman's Club in Peebles on Friday Sept 21st. As in recent years, the East team was comprised of representatives from the various teams that finished 1st or 2nd in their respective League, pooled from Edinburgh & the surrounding area.

Club News

Comiston at 50

Comiston Bridge Club celebrated their 50th anniversary with a teams event running throughout and a lovely dinner at Kenmore Hotel, Kenmore.


Newsletters were abandoned in favour of the web site but for posterity here are the last two published. One and Two.

Year by Year

2017-2018 | 2016-2017 | 2015-2016 | 2014-2015 | 2013-2014 | 2012-2013 | 2011-2012 | 2010-2011 | 2009-2010 | 2008-2009 | 2007-2008 | 2006-2007 | 2005-2006

Trophy Winners 2008-09

Allan Flitch

Heather & Peter Braid

Atholl Cup

Jack Paterson, Brian Short, Derek Sanders, David Liggat

Cowan Cup

David Walker & Brian Short

Faie Rosebowl

Robert Taylor

Hunter Cup

Les Steel, James McGeorge, Dave Walker, Malcolm Cuthbertson

Leagues (Teams of 8)

Div 1: 49ers
Div 2: Carlton Connection
Div 3: Scramblers
Div 4: Orion
Div 5: Kelso Abbey

League Tables 2007-2008

League Results 2007-2008

McGregor Cup

Duncan Macdonald & Carolyn Peploe

MacLaren Cup


Men's Teams

David Liggat, Miro Dragic, Brian Short, Derek Sanders, Mike Ash

Next Step

Lyn Cronin & Anne Havard, Catherine Jordan & Ian Somerville

No Fear

L McFarlane & A Bunker

Swiss Pairs

Stephen Male & Paul Maiolani

Watson Trophy

Paul Maiolani, Ian MacIntyre, Iain Howie, Mike McGinley

Women's Teams

Veronica Guy, Carolyn Peploe, Sam Punch, Fiona McQuaker, Liz McGowan


Berwick Congress

Teams: Margaret & Robert Pemble, Ian & Margaret Ross

Pairs: Keith Youngs & John O'Connor

Dunbar Congress

Pairs: Thea Teale & Anthony Bates

Teams: Alison & Jim Pilley, Bett & Norman Morrison

Dunfermline Congress

Pairs: Alan Goodman & Sam Punch

Teams: Briony Multon, Bronwen Wheatley, Agnes Munro, J Anderson

Kelso Congress

Pairs: Val Fairbairn & Jean Bunyan

Teams: Joyce Thomson, Helenor Pratt, Val Fairbairn & Jean Bunyan

Representative Matches

Borders v East District

East District