League Home Page

East District Leagues

The league season runs from late September until the end of March each year. The league structure currently consists of 5 sections of 10 or 11 teams. Matches are played over 24 boards at four tables. League teams are also welcome to play in the MacLaren Cup, which is a handicap knockout event on the same basis.

League Secretary

Julia Palmer
0131 2281009

League Rules

The full League Rules are available in PDF format (updated in September 2014).

Top of Page

League Master Points

At the end of each season, please send a completed Master Points Claim Form.

If you prefer you may also send it as a Excel file.


League master points may be claimed for all team members who contributed to winning one or more matches (’2 Point wins’ or tied matches also count, though not ‘1 point defeats’ or outright losses!)

You should have a record of which players played in which matches from your records, or from the automated receipts we send you via the website when league match results are submitted.

When you complete the claim form please include full names and titles, and the master point number for each player (refer to MEMPAD if required). If any of your players does not have a master point number then please include their full name, title, and address so that the MP Secretary can register them in the SBU Master Point scheme.

Top of Page

MacLaren Cup

The league teams may choose to participate in the MacLaren Cup, a handicap knockout event, for no additional fee.

AMP Conversion Table

< 1%1
Top of Page

Match Venues

Venue addresses and contact details for all the usual home venues and common "Half way house" venues.

Top of Page

Team Contacts

Full contact details are not held on this site, but are distributed to all tream captains at the start of the season.

49ersIain Sime
AcolytesPam Warner
Berwick AGarneth Ellis
Berwick BearsTrish Frew
Braid CastleJulia Campbell
Brave KnavesJohn Loudon
Carlton CamdenWillie MacGruer
Carlton ConnectionJim Wilkinson
Colinton CastleDavid Chambers
ComistonShaun Ni
CraigleithBrian Short
DiamondsJohn Allen
DunbarPam Meldrum
DundasGeorge Plant
Dunfermline AJane Carnegie
Dunfermline BDavid Dodds
FalconSarinder Singh
FalkirkVi Outred
GosfordRobin Sharp
Grosvenor AcesRoss Kennedy
GullaneSandy Kirkwood
HermitageJohn Everett
IconoclastsNorrie O'Neill
InvulnerablesEd Meachem
JethartRichard Oates
KelsoJean McLaren
Kestrel ClubMargaret Clark
LinlithgowPam Leith
LivingstonRobert Reid
Longniddry BeesJohn Holcroft
Marmion AAlan Reid
Marmion BNeil Paton
NomadsLaura Middleton
NotsimocKen Grigor
OptimistsKathleen Marr
OrionRose Simpson
OrmistonNigel Lindsay
Peebles ADenis Higginbotham
Peebles BeesKatherine Carson
PentlandIan Robertson
Pentland PanthersAlison Holwill
PhoenixJohn Hamilton
Pied PipersDavid Anderson
Pinkhill PandasAllan Ainslie
RandolphPaul Allan
RattenMaurice Brady
RenaissanceMarina Evans
Ruff ClubHilarie Howarth
ScramblersWillie Clemie
SkaterawBett Morrison
Unusual SuspectsJanet Unsworth
WarristonMarilyn McDonagh
WaverleyRobert Gatliff
WinterfellKen McKenna
Top of Page


If there are any changes of contact details for your league team, please let Julia Palmer know the name, email address and telephone number of the new representative so she can update records.

Next Matches

Full List: Agenda View | Calendar View

Top of Page

League Results

Submit your results online

The online submission form offers the following functionality:

  • League and Cup capability
  • total scores calculation
  • AMPs calculation
  • handicap calculation
  • provision for adding a comment
  • receipts to both teams
  • contact information for checking

The submission program needs a "Home" and "Away" team to be designated so even if you meet halfway please choose - it has no significance beyond this.

If you experience any problems using this form please tell Julia when you send your result in (presumably by regular email!) or Alan Officer directly at .

Top of Page


Past Seasons

Top of Page

Tables, Fixtures & Results

Overall Summaries

Recent Winners

Division 1

  • 2018-19: Craigleith
  • 2017-18: 49ers
  • 2016-17: Craigleith
  • 2015-16: 49ers
  • 2014-15: 49ers

Division 2

  • 2018-19: Grosvenor Aces
  • 2017-18: Colinton Castle
  • 2016-17: Pied Pipers
  • 2015-16: Scramblers
  • 2014-15: Linlithgow

Division 3

  • 2018-19: Renaissance
  • 2017-18: Orion
  • 2016-17: Colinton Castle
  • 2015-16: Falcon
  • 2014-15: Colinton Castle

Division 4

  • 2018-19: Unusual Suspects
  • 2017-18: Renaissance
  • 2016-17: Gullane
  • 2015-16: Unusual Suspects
  • 2014-15: Comiston

Division 5

  • 2018-19: Pinkhill Pandas
  • 2017-18: Diamonds
  • 2016-17: Renaissance
  • 2015-16: Melbas
  • 2014-15: Berwick Bears
Top of Page