Bronze Page


Stuff aimed exclusively at Bronze players - don’t forget to check the other news for congresses and open competitions which you are also encouraged to enter.

Thea Teale Bronze Pairs

Won by Keith and Ishbel Clark, well done for finishing top of the combined national ranking!

Thea Teale full national results

Keith and Ishbel (heat and national winners)

Katharine Bailey and Amanda Aberdour (heat runners up) David Houston & Allan Ainslie (heat 3rd)

Heat runners up were Katharine Bailey and Amanda Aberdour, with Allan Ainslie and David Houston third.

Athena Chow and David MacCallum (heat 4th, and Bronze 1 winners) Jane Carnegie  and Andrew Carnegie (heat 5th, and Bronze 3 winners)

Fourth (and Bronze 1 winners) were Athena Chow and David MacCallum, while the Bronze 3 winners Jane and Andrew Carnegie finished 5th.

Autumn Bronze Congress at Peebles

The dedicated congress for Bronze players takes place at Peebles Hydro from 20th to 22nd October 2017 — Full Details and Entry Form — please note you don’t enter online for the congresses, it makes it easier to sort out hotel bookings, incomplete teams and so on, which can complicate congress management.

What Else Is Out There?

The national SBU web site has a section dedicated to Bronze players. There may be bronze events run nationally or in other districts which you might be interested in.

MEMPAD Demystified

How to get at your points


The bronze prize was won by Anne Young, Norrie O’Neill, Tim Lambert and Robert Thornton (65) (with Fiona Greenwood presenting).


Another enjoyable summer of bridge. In a background of scandal, bad behaviour and downright cheating, an example on how the game should be played — with skill, consideration, and of course home baking. One team even called in their reserve to play for the opponents rather than make them forfeit. I have received several compliments on their behalf. Congratulations! We hope the summer has honed your bridge ready for the new season.

As for the results — Fife Aces won very closely followed by Grange in second and Hermitage Hibs in third. The winners are pictured from left to right — Gertrud Mallon, Nicola Dean, Sue Smith and Fiona McElhinney. Willie Davidson and Dave Dunn also played for the team but were not at the AGM.

Pos  Team                    P    W    L   AMPs   Pts
1    Fife Aces               4    3    1    25     9
2    Grange                  4    3    1    18     9
3    Hermitage Hibs          4    3    1     9     9
4    Hearty Hermits          4    1    3   -12     3
5    Whatsappateers          4    0    4   -38     0


This competition was for players in classes or new to competitive play. Indeed many in the winning team had rarely played more than 8 boards at once before!

Heebie Jeebies! Team captain Andrew Wells, Clare Paterson and Neil Paterson with the trophy, ably assisted by Anita Jaglarz, Roberto Venanzio and David Watts.

Very close behind were Diamonds Are Forever (last year’s winner). Third were All Hands On Deck.

Pos  Team                    P    W    L   AMPs   Pts
1    Heebie Jeebies          5    4    1    44    12
2    Diamonds Are Forever    5    4    1    38    12
3    All Hands On Deck       5    3    2    -5     9
4    A Bridge Too far        5    2    3     2     6
6    The Elizabethans        5    1    4   -31     3
5    Jammy Dodgers           5    1    4   -48     3